Books & Music

Watch Daniel Radcliffe Read The First Harry Potter Book

The actor will be joined by other famous voices in reading aloud the beloved story!

“We’re casting a Banishing Charm on boredom!” declares Wizarding World, the online hub for fans of “Harry Potter” and “Fantastic Beasts.” That sounds hugely appealing for anyone — of any age — who could do with a bit of magic in their current locked-down life.

And in April, Wizarding World spun out a new boredom-banishing project as an extension of its Harry Potter online community: Harry Potter at Home.

J.K. Rowling herself announced the launch of Harry Potter at Home in a tweet in which she invited parents, teachers and carers to use the website to “keep children amused and interested.”

So far, the most exciting part of the ongoing Harry Potter at Home project is the celebrity reading of the first book, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” (known in the U.S. as “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”).

And who better to read the first chapter but Daniel Radcliffe, the boy wizard himself? You can watch Radcliffe’s introduction to the wonderful world of Harry, Ron, Hermione and Hogwarts on Wizarding World now, and if you want an audio-only version, Spotify will release a new chapter of the book weekly on its channels (regular Spotify and Spotify Kids).

Plenty of other well-known voices will be reading the first book in Rowling’s hit series, and this Instagram video from the Wizarding World provides a glimpse of these famous fans of the boy who lived.